Eastern Nagaland MLAs To Defy Poll Boycott Call

Share this on your social network proudly:

Eastern Nagaland Legislators Union (ENLU), a forum of legislators from the state’s eastern districts, has decided to participate in the forthcoming assembly polls against the backdrop of a poll boycott call given by the Eastern Nagaland People’s Organisation (ENPO).In August 2022, the influential ENPO passed a resolution to abstain from participating in the 2023 assembly polls unless the demand for the formation of a separate state, comprising the six eastern Nagaland districts, is met.The ENLU in a press release stated, “In an emergency meeting held on January 22 pertaining to the ENPO resolution to abstain from 14th Nagaland assembly election, after a thorough deliberation the house resolved to participate in the upcoming general election since the election has been notified by the Election commission of India on 18th of January, 2023.”Currently, the ENLU has 20 legislators, comprising seven tribes, Konyak, Chang, Khiamniungan, Tikhir, Sangtam, Yimkhiung, and Phom.Konyak Union (KU) in a press statement said that it had decided to refrain from participating in the assembly polls.The ENLU is led by State Health Minister S Pangnyu Phom as Convenor and CL John, Advisor for Land Resources Department, as its secretary.