Lok Sabha Election Updates: Voting Begins In 12 States, Union Territories

The third phase of voting for 2024 Lok Sabha elections begins. The elections are being held in 93 constituencies spread over 12 states and Union Territories. More than 1,300 candidates, including 120 women, are contesting in this crucial phase.

The elections is being held in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s home state of Gujarat and BJP’s strongholds in Hindi heartland belt of Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and Chhattisgarh.

The third phase of voting takes in 26 seats in Gujarat, 14 in Karanataka, 11 in Maharashtra, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, 8 in Madhya Pradesh, 7 in Chhattisgarh, 5 in Bihar, 4 in Assam, 4 in West Bengal, 2 in Goa and 2 in Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

The prominent contestants in the fray for the third phase are Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi.

Apart from top ministers from Modi government, Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule and Ajit Pawar’s wife Sunetra Pawar are also fray in the third phase.

This phase is a key for the Yadav family too in UP as Samajwadi Party supremo and former Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav, former Member of Parliament (MP) Akshay Yadav, Ram Gopal Yadav’s son, Aditya Yadav, Shivpal Singh Yadav’s son are contesting in the third phase.

Here are the Live Updates on Phase 3:

Enable Notifications OK No thanks